How to become (ISC)2 associate?

Certification: ISC CISSP - Certified Information Systems Security Professional

If you want to become an (ISC)2 associate, you do not have to demonstrate how good you are at Information systems security. You simply do the following:

1.  Pass the CISSP, CSSLP, CAP, SSCP or HCISPP certification exams in accordance to the (ISC)2 CBK, the (ISC)2's assortment of topics covering information security.

However, the exam that you choose to sit determines the length of your designation as detailed below:

CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional)

If you pass the CISSP exam, you become an associate of (ISC)2 since the date that the (ISC)2 notify you that you have passed. The designation as an associate of (ISC)2 lasts for a maximum of six years. During the time when the designation is valid, you should obtain the necessary experience as well as submit a form of endorsement for the processing of your CISSP certificate.

CSSLP (Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional)

The CSSLP enables the validation of your skills in software development lifecycle (SDLC). Before the certification, your skills in development of security programs, reduction of production costs, enhancement of your organization's credibility as well as reduction of loss of revenue and reputation.

If you pass the CSSLP exam, (ISC)2 will notify you that you have passed. You become an (ISC)2 associate at this time and remain one until five years elapse. However, you should get the necessary experience and submit the form of endorsement to initiate the processing of your CSSLP certificate.

CAP (Certified Authorization Professional)

The certification's main purpose is to assess knowledge, skills and abilities required for individuals involved in authorization and maintenance of information systems.

The (ISC)2 will notify you when you pass the CAP exam. You immediately become an ISC associate from the time of notification. However, you only become an (ISC)2 associate for only two years. Within the two years, you should obtain the necessary experience and submit the endorsement form to facilitate processing of your CAP certificate.

SSCP (Systems Security Certified Practitioner)

SSCP is ideal if you want in positions such as security, systems analyst, security architect, network administrator and many more.  You can enroll for the SSCP if you have a one-year experience. If you pass the SSCP exam, (ISC)2 will notify you, and you immediately become an (ISC)2 associate. You remain an (ISC)2 associate for the next two years since the date of notification. You are supposed to get the necessary experience during the two years and submit the endorsement form to have your SSCP processed.

CCFP (Certified Cyber Forensics Professional)

The certification is for professionals from a wide range of fields. In fact, majority of those who seek the certification have one or more digital forensics certifications. They could come from the corporate world, government occupations, law enforcement and the legal field.

The (ISC)2 will notify you when you pass the CCFP exam. You become an (ISC)2 associate from the moment of notification until seven years elapse. Like with other exams, you have to gain experience within the seven years that you are an (ISC)2 associate and submit the endorsement form in order to get the CCFP certification.

HICISPP (HealthCare Information Security and Privacy Practitioner)

The HICISPP exam tests your skills in Healthcare Industry, Information Risk Assessment, Third Party Risk Management, Privacy and Security in Healthcare, Information Governance and Risk Management and Regulatory Environment. If you pass the HICISPP exam, the (ISC)2 will notify you. Immediately, you become an (ISC)2 associate, and the designation remains valid for two years. Within the two years, you obtain the necessary experience and submit a form of endorsement to get HICISPP certification.

2.  Subscribe to the ISC Code of Ethics

Why subscribe to the code?

To become an (ISC)2 associate, you must earn and maintain the certification. In fact, it is a privilege and honor to be certified.  For this reason, you must support the Code of Ethics and completely commit to it. The Code is important such that professionals who deliberately or unintentionally fail to adhere to its requirements face a peer panel to responsible for reviewing those who revoke the Code. If you violate the Code, you could end up losing your certification. If you observe that one of the (ISC)2 members works against the Code, you must launch a complaint. If you fail to complain, (ISC)2 members can insist that you breached the Canon IV section of the Code.

The Code consists of four main compulsory canons. Despite existence of the Code, you should always apply ethical judgment of the profession.

The Code thus protects the society; it ensures the common good of all. Thus, a member of (ISC)2 is responsible for adhering to the Code and ensuring his colleagues do the same. In the event that they do not, he is responsible for reporting to the appropriate authority. If you want to be an (ISC)2 associate, you must strictly adhere to the Code.

What are the Canons of the Code of Ethics?

The four canons of the code are:

  • Protect society, the common good, obligatory public trust and confidence, and the framework.
  • Act respectfully, truthfully, impartially, responsibly and lawfully.
  • Provide dedicated and adequate services to principals.
  • Develop and guard the profession.

3.  Submit Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits per year

In order to remain in good standing, you must earn credits annually (20 for CISSP, 15 for CSSLP, ten for CAP, ten for SSCP).

4.  Pay Annual Maintenance Fees (AMFs)

You must pay an annual fee of US$ 35

5.  Maintain Status in good standing

You must do the following to remain in good standing:

  • Submit to the (ISC)2 Code of Ethics
  • Submit AMFs after you receive annual invoices.
  • Obtain and submit the CPE credits as required.

If you remain in good faith, you can elect (ISC)2 directors, attend (ISC)2's general meeting, participate in committees and functions, endorse a candidate for (ISC)2 certification and take part in other chief functions of the (ISC)2.

Related IT Guides

  1. CISSP Certifications: Required Versus Recommended Experience
  2. CISSP: How to earn CPEs?
  3. Eleventh Hour CISSP: What to do?
  4. How Much Can You Earn with CISSP Certification?
  5. How often CISSP exam format gets updated?
  6. How to prepare for CISSP exam?
  7. Is CISSP certification the Gold standard in the industry?

Autumn SALE! Get 25% Discount on All Your Purchases!

This is a ONE TIME OFFER. You will never see this Again

Instant Discount

25% OFF

Enter Your Email Address to Receive Your 25% OFF Discount Code Plus... Our Exclusive Weekly Deals

A confirmation link will be sent to this email address to verify your login.

* We value your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address.